Or call our technical support: +31852080825

Available Monday through Friday from 7AM to 3:30PM CET
Please create a ticket before calling and keep the ticket number at hand.
At the moment we are only offering support in English, so we kindly ask you to address your issue in English.
Start a new topic

Correct distance of the print bed from the print head

Hello,

I'm new in 3D printing.

In a couple of days I will receive the first roll of plastic and I will try my first printing job.

I think I will have to recalibrate the print bed because I see it does not have the same distance from the print head when it is at the 4 corners of the printing area.

So... what is the correct distance of the print bed from the print head?

Thanks for your answer.

Carlo

I use a piece of card stock as my gauge.

Thank you Michael

Most people seem to use a piece of standard weight printer paper (which is about 0.1mm thick). That seems to work for me.

Keep in mind that you should set the distance with everything heated and stabilized

It can be challenging to get the entire print area perfect. Since my parts are usually not that large I usually only adjust around the area where I will be printing. Whatever works for you.

Thanks Robert.

I'm trying to produce my very first print.

The first tryout was bad because the plastic didn't stick on the bed... probably the distance was not correct.

Now I've re-positioned the bed using a paper sheet - as you saied... sorry I haven't done it with the bed already warm... in a few minutes the printer will reach the temperature and then it should begin to print... let's see what comes out...

Ok, all wrong: I re-calibrated the distance with the bed already warm.

But the plastic does not stick on the print bed - even if I put the sticker on it!